o ya, Leather District, Boston

Nothing can describe this extended meal better than the word “phenomenal.” Tim Cushman’s beautiful gem is tucked inside a former fire station and hidden on an alleyway like street near South Station, Les Zygomates and Sorriso in the Leather District. Portions are tiny but each luxurious bite is like eating stunning food artwork. Literally. Besides, you can always run over to Chinatown to fill up on cheap eats if that’s a concern.

Reservations are strongly encouraged since it is a very small dimly lit restaurant that fills up quickly. The eclectic music I heard that night was from a movie, TV show or commercial. I heard the Peanuts theme, a song from Austin Powers and many more.

Poochi Poochi Sparkling Sake Dry with a touch of sweetness, can I say any more?
Kumamoto Oyster watermelon pearls, cucumber mignonette

This little morsel was like summer in your mouth. Clean and refreshing yet briny from the oyster.

Hamachi, spicy banana pepper mousse

This was an automatic winner once it hit my palate. Slightly warm from being lightly blowtorched, the lingering spiciness from the banana peppers, made my lips smile.

Salmon, unfiltered wheat soy moromi, yuzu

One word: Tasty. Many words: the soy moromi tastes like black beans.

Warm Eel, thai basil, kabayaki, fresh Kyoto sansho

One of the best eel bites ever. It didn’t leave an oily aftertaste like most barbequed eel does.

???

For the life of me I cannot remember what this one was. This is what I get for not taking notes and letting friends, sake and good times preoccupy me. I remember the topping tasted green and had garlicky crunchy bits in it. If you know what it was, tell me.

Diver Scallop, sage tempura, olive oil bubbles, meyer lemon

It was alright. Nothing to write home about. I love scallops, but not like this. It was worth trying to say I did. I was more interested sage tempura than the actual scallop.

Fried Kumamoto Oyster, yuzu kosho aioli, squid ink bubbles

I liked this because it was different. The fried oyster was a nice contrast to the rice and seaweed and the bubbles were barely noticeable.

Suzuki Sea Bass, cucumber vinaigrette, avocado, cilantro Simple, utter deliciousness. Tangy cilantro and refreshing cucumbers.

Warm Braise Shiitake Mushroom, anise hysop, truffle honey sauce

This was an unexpected winner. Serving it slightly warm just made everything taste so much better.

Seared Wagyu Petit Strip Loin, tiny smoked potato, grilled onion, fresh wasabi

This is possibly the smallest piece of Wagyu I have ever eaten. Yet the execution was perfect. The tiny smoked potato actually tasted as if a hint of smoke was really in the entire potato. The grilled onion was sweet, tender and caramelized. A nibble of the trio together was a meaty bite of foodie bliss.

Hamachi, viet mignonette, thai basil, shallot

The sweet and spicy chilli in the migonette left a touch of heat in your throat after you swallowed the raw fish slice.

Foie Gras, balsamic chocolate kabayaki, raisin cocoa pulp, sip of aged sake

This was semi-sweet rich creamy bite that had a touch of dark chocolate. The aged sake paired well.

I will be back again. Though I’d like to sit at the sushi bar and watch my food be constructed and try the sake flight. Or take someone here for to celebrate a special occasion such as an anniversary or birthday.

9 East St.
Boston, MA
Tel: (617) 654-9900

La Laiterie at Farmstead on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment